Growing

Hey everyone, sorry for not posting in a few weeks, I’ve been really busy. Track just started for me so my life has been consumed by weekday meets and all day weekend meets. This is basically my life for the next couple of months. But don’t worry I’ll try to blog more regularly. I haven’t been knitting lately, just because I don’t have that much time on my hands.

Something happened to me this week that I wanted to share. Friday, in my zero period AVID class, Advancement Via Individual Determination – college prep class, our new counselor came in a discussed our schedules for next year. I realized then and there that my junior year is quickly coming to an end and before I know it, my senior year will be here. I have been waiting for senior year since Freshman year, but now that it’s nearing that time I don’t think I’m ready for it. I mean in less than 10 months I’ll be 18, and an adult. I mean I’m not ready to be one. I haven’t learned anything on how to be an adult! Here’s what I never learned in High School:

  • How to do taxes
  • What taxes are
  • How to vote
  • How to write a resume/ cover letter
  • Anything to do with banking
  • How to apply for loans for college
  • How to buy a car or house

But thank my lucky stars, I can you all about the pythagorean theorem. I mean why, why do I have to grow up? I’ve been wanting too since I was little kid, but now that I know what my future holds, what’s the point of growing up? No offense, but the older generations forget at times that the decisions they make affects my generations so much more. I mean the social security surplus is going to run out in a few years, the water situation is getting worse, there are less jobs available in the U.S., and don’t even get me started on the political aspects, is the future going to be any better for me? This is just something that has been boiling in mind, since yesterday, so I thought you could all see what goes on in mind. Leave a comment telling me what you think of adulthood. Is it all it has cracked to be? Is it a trap? I want to know what your experiences have been like as an adult. That’s all for this week, keep on knitting.

I am prepared for the worst, but I hope for the best.

– Benjamin Disraeli

One thought on “Growing

  1. My thoughts are that you shouldn’t worry so much. Take life one day at a time. You’ll learn each of those things as you need to. You’re very smart and you’ll have no trouble with any of them. And, yes…adulthood is all it’s cracked up to be and much more. The older you get the better life is and the happier you’ll be in your own mind…it might not make sense now but it will. I think being a teenager is the hardest part of life and you’ll be done with that very soon. The 20’s have tough times but lots of great times. Then, life just gets better. Really! And, you’ll have people in your life all along the way that will love and support you. And, of course…lots of yarn! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

