The Beach

The beach. There’s just something about those two words that convey so much emotion to me. Since I was a little one, I’ve always enjoyed the beach, the feeling of the warm sand in between my toes, the breeze that has blown on the same places for as long as anyone can tell, and the feeling of the water waking me up for my dormant land life. I love it so.

Living in Southern California, the beaches here are something completely different from that of the East Coast or any other place. And me living in the Inland Empire, a valley completely surrounded by mountains, getting to the beach means either a short 30 minute drive to Oceanside in San Diego County, or an hour drive to the beaches in Orange Country, particularly Huntington Beach, home of the US Surf Open.

Today however, I had a race at Balboa Park in San Diego. Balboa Park for all of you who aren’t familiar with it, is a park that is located a few minutes away from Downtown San Diego. I ran a 3 mile course in 18:04, a new personal record for me! However, getting to Balboa Park means an hour and ten minute drive down the I-15, being tired and hungry aren’t always the best mixes, but this morning it was. I say this because, after my race I was able to appreciate the fact that I was able to get a new PR for myself and that I was able to share with my coach and friends, especially in Balboa. Mornings like today are the ones I won’t forget, mainly because they were memories I made with people that I love.

After the race I drove an extra ten minutes away and ended at Ocean Beach. I’ve never been, but my friend had raved about these Açaí bowls that were located on the boardwalk, I love Açaí bowls, so I figured that I would have one for breakfast. And because it was such a short walk to the beach, I decided to have my Açaí Bowl on the beach watch the swell take the surfers. It was pretty amazing morning. There is nothing quite like the sound of the waves crashing onto the shore while you enjoy some alone time.

Image

Hope you all have a great weekend. Enjoy the time you have with the people you love.

The sea does not reward those who are too anxious, too greedy, or too impatient. One should lie empty, open, choice-less as a beach – waiting for a gift from the sea.

-Anne Morrow Lindbergh

Leave a Reply

