It’s Been A While

A lot has happened since I’ve been away. Let me begin with, I’m sorry. I promised to write more blog posts but it has yet to happen. I will try my best to try to write once a week, since it’s a good way to remember what I did during the week. Okay since we last talked my mother was in the hospital, and she’s all fine now. Her potassium levels bottomed out which caused her to pass out, and and her blood pressure to shoot up. She’s taking care of herself, or so she tells me.

In the middle of July I went to my orientation at UC Santa Cruz. It was in the academic advising office that I was told I was ahead of my credits by exactly 48, so technically I was incoming sophomore, and as of today I’m recognized as a freshman with sophomore standing. It’s great, one less year of debt and school. I also decided to double major in Legal Studies and Politics, figured it would look good on my law school application in a few years.

At the end of September, on a pretty warm day for Santa Cruz, I hugged my mother as she cried after saying goodbye to me, hugged my father and watched them drive away, leaving me to start my own journey. The first weekend of move in was a little awkward since I didn’t know anyone, but that is what I liked about the dorms, they force you to make friends. And so I did.

The UC system revolves around the quarter system, consisting of 10 weeks per quarter, so by December I was done with my first quarter. I managed to get 3 A’s and one B. It was a pretty good quarter. I was given two weeks for my winter break, but since I did not have finals it ended up being a little more than two and a half weeks.

Left home on January 3rd since quarter started on the 5th. Started my quarter, and decided that I would take 20 units this quarter, it’s a lot but I’m determined. Then the following weekend I attended a law school seminar in San Francisco at UC Hastings Law School; great day spent learning about everything it takes to apply, to be accepted, and to be in law school.

On January 15, 2015 I turned 19. I still feel the same but it’s a little crazy to think this is my last year being a teen. And then it’s adulthood for real next year. It wasn’t the best since I had a paper due and class, so there wasn’t much celebrations. But you gotta have some bad birthdays to appreciate the good ones.

And that’s all for now, Happy Valentine’s Day to all you reading today!

“Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to the body and soul.”

— John Muir

Leave a Reply

